The GMAC Main Committee

The Genetic Modification Advisory Committee (GMAC) was established under the purview of the Ministry of Trade and Industry in April 1999 to oversee and advise on the research and development, production, use and handling of Genetically Modified Organisms (GMOs) in Singapore.

The Committee is currently chaired by Prof Prakash Kumar from the National University of Singapore (NUS) and consists of members drawn from 12 agencies. Each member of GMAC contributes a different area of expertise to the committee, thereby enabling GMAC to make decisions based on holistic views of issues related to genetic modification.

The composition of the Subcommittee is as follows:

Name Role in GMAC Designation Organisation
Prof Prakash Kumar Chairman Professor
Department of Biological Sciences
National University of Singapore (NUS)
Dr Hong Yan Deputy Chairman Senior Lecturer
School of Biological Sciences
Nanyang Technological University (NTU)
A/Prof Peter Dröge Member Associate Professor
Division of Molecular and Cell Biology
Nanyang Technological University (NTU)
A/Prof Raymond Lin Member Senior Consultant
Department of Laboratory Medicine
National University Hospital (NUH)
Dr Paul Chiew Member Group Director
Laboratories Group
Agri-Food and Veterinary Authority of Singapore (AVA)
Dr Chua Sin Bin Member Principal Consultant Agri-food Technologies Pte Ltd
Prof Paul Teng Member Managing Director National Institute of Education International (NIEI)
Dr Se Thoe Su Yun Member Deputy Director
National Biosafety Branch
Ministry of Health (MOH)
Mr Seah Seng Choon Member Executive Director Consumers Association of Singapore (CASE)
Prof Uttam Surana Member Research Director
Institute of Molecular and Cell Biology (IMCB)
Agency for Science, Technology and Research (A*STAR)
Dr Ralph Graichen Member Director
Biomedical Research Council
Agency for Science, Technology and Research (A*STAR)
Ms Wendy Yap Member Director
International Relations (National Biodiversity Centre)
National Parks Board (NParks)
Ms Gan Siok Lin Member Executive Director
Workplace Safety and Health Institute
Ministry of Manpower (MOM)
Ms Danielle Yeow Member Deputy-Director General
International Affairs Division
Attorney General's Chambers (AGC)